JR 18

A. Anzaldúa begins her story with a small biography of herself. She then opens with an anecdote of being at the dentist, and the dentist was trying to ‘tame’ her tongue. Subsequently, she discusses memories of her childhood, including sayings from her family. She then transitions into discussing the function of Chicano Spanish, in that it provides an identity for a large group of people which are somewhat outsiders. Later she lists some of the languages that she speaks and with whom she speaks them with,

She then describes Chicano Spanish in origin, identifiers, specific rules, and where they have roots (e.g. borrowing words from English). Using this as a platform, she discusses how this language is often viewed as culturally illegitimate. Later she discusses how this not only affects their interaction with other language speakers, but also within the Chicano language itself. She goes on to mention some novel moments in which Chicano or Spanish culture was published, presented in film, or recorded in music. She ends on discussing how this view has hindered and unified Chicano individuals, discussing in detail their genetic heritage. Finally, she seems to be making a statement to other Chicanos, that they will persevere.

 

B. Please note that I do not speak all of these languages fluently, however, I know enough to communicate somewhat with individuals who are fluent.

  1. Standard English
  2. Standard French
  3. Verlan
  4. Standard Spanish
  5. German
  6. Italian

I could not come up with 8, but here are the ones I am aware of and feel comfortable saying I know. Knowing English has provided me a multitude of opportunities, of which the ends I am not sure I understand. However, I know that understanding Standard English has helped me immensely during my time in school. Additionally, it has helped me interact with the environment, the Pacific Northwest, in which I reside. It is also one of the most commonly spoken languages in the Westernized countries and that would allow me to travel fairly easily to these locations.

Being fluent in French has afforded me no direct privileges. Indirectly, this has provided many college credits, science indicates that I may have higher levels of cognition than those who speak one language, and in the rare instance I have ran across another French speaker I have been able to communicate with them.

The other languages I know of, I understand a few words in them or maybe even phrases. Having knowledge of these languages does not provide access to as many things here in the United States as it does abroad. If you are able to communicate effectively in another language your travels will go far smoother as you will be able to understand and interact with those who’s countries you are visiting.

 

C. This view of bilingualism helps us understand student writers because it reminds us of the internal struggle they may be experiencing. For example, I worked with a student who told me they first learned to read and write in Arabic and as a result they have a difficult time writing and reading English. This history with language can help explain where they may need additional support. It also helps us recognize that Standard English may not be the best answer for every assignment. It is important to remember that the student may not want to write in Standard English and if that is there choice we need to help support their decisions in a truthful and genuine manner. For example, if this student who initially learned to read and write in Arabic, would like to include Arabic phrases in their paper without translation I would feel inclined to inform them that may not result in the grade they are seeking, however, it is important that your writing reflects you as an individual. Then allow the student, within that structure, to make their own decision about what they want to focus their paper on.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close