JR 25

  1. Yes, the readings did push me to think differently about generating content. Specifically, the loop writing approach is very interesting. This allows a writer to let their thoughts wonder then return back to the topic; this results in generation of content that may not be easily thought of without letting ones mind wander. Additionally, I thought the ‘dangerous method’ was an interesting take to traditional brainstorming. I have experienced the writers block that arises from trying to be intentional with an outline rather than just generating ideas. I believe knowing this will allow me to encourage students that they can write as they think rather than having their ideas formulated prior to writing. This differs from myself as a writer because I rarely use writing as a means to generate ideas. I tend to think out my ideas before writing them down.
  2. I think I would be most likely to use the loop writing. Especially by giving the student a prompt and asking them what that makes them think of or what they think on that particular topic. Additionally, I may just ask the student to just talk out what they think on the topic and I be their scribe. This would allow them to avoid the dangerous method as a means of discovering what they want to say about a particular topic.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close