JR 27

I think the main way I can reduce barriers for students with disabilities is by being flexible; in understanding that no one approach works I can help these students. It is about accommodating the person where they are at and helping them bridge gaps to help them. Specifically, in regards to visible disabilities I can help them if they need assistance such as writing or typing. For example, I have a student who comes in regularly who lost part of his finger earlier this year. As a result they have a difficult time typing, so I type while they talk. These appointments often prove to be the most satisfying because he accomplishes so much and is so excited about it. In regards to invisible disabilities, I think this a matter of encouragement. What I mean by this is that often people are hard on themselves, they say things like ‘I just can’t write’ or ‘I’ve never been very good at following course material’. In response to these comments, which often feel like they are hinting at some form of disability, I encourage the student. I will also see what methods I can use to help them succeed even if they are not ‘conventional’.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close